Kamidana

At the beginning of April or thereabout I actually had some of my work up in public.  It made me realize how amateurish my work looks, but it was an interesting sensation.

Image

It was the art show at my kids school, which features mostly professional artists (or at least people who make a regular habit of selling their stuff on etsy).  I took a spot that someone vacated at the last minute, just to see what would happen.  Then I realized I actually had to price my work, move it around, figure out how to hang it and other stuff.

None of my stuff sold, but it was useful to go through all the steps, including finishing a few things at the last minute.  And I contributed a piece to the inevitable Silent Auction, which someone actually bid on.  So now something I made is in someone else’s possession.  And I forgot to take a picture of it, which is unusual.

I remembered to take a picture of this one, but forgot to take it to the show.

Image

 

It’s a box that a paring knife came in, from west elm.  The box had a sliding lid and this swanky handle, presumably for a Japanese crafts aesthetic.  So I stuck a tiny incense bowl that I picked up at one of those incense/scarf/hippy ethnic paraphernalia shops in Cleveland, an incense tile, some layered paper left over from another project and a belt buckle.  The belt buckle is from the 70s and feels like it is built to withstand fire, flood and nuclear war.  It was a belt that my mother in law made.  The paper includes a leftover menu from one of my favorite hipster vegan restaurants in Columbus, where I had some very nice meals in the early 2000s.

Image

A kamidana is a shinto shrine for the home.  Most aikido dojos have them.  Not being a shinto or buddhist practitioner, I’m not sure how to display it (traditionally a kamidana is supposed to be hung above head height), but I find it soothing to look at, so it’s next to my desk.

This entry was posted in collage, creativity, culture. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

